About the Department

The Black Forest Fire Rescue Protection District (BFFRPD) is made up entirely of unincorporated areas of El Paso County, Colorado’s most populous county.

The department is a Title 32 special district that is governed by a five-member, publicly elected board of directors who serve four-year terms. The department is managed by a career fire chief, assistant fire chief and an administrative assistant. The department currently has nine career firefighter/EMTs, 14 part-time firefighter/EMTs and 36 Volunteer Firefighter/EMTs.

The department responds to calls within a 48-square-mile area of unincorporated El Paso County. The district serves a population of approximately 10,000 residents and protects more than 5,000 structures with a market value of more than $1.4 billion.

We respond to about 900 calls a year in Black Forest. We also provide Advanced Life Support transport of the sick and injured to area hospitals.

All alarm responses are made within an eight-minute average for the district. The department operates from two stations.

  • Station 1, at 11445 Teachout Road, is staffed 24/7 with three full-time firefighters on each of the three shifts.
  • Station 2, 16465 Ridge Run Road, is staffed with two part-time personnel from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily.

Black Forest has an insurance rating (ISO) of 5 for all properties located within five road miles of any of the stations. The department is supported by a property tax rate of 10.356 mills.


The Black Forest Volunteer Fire Department was organized in 1945 by a group of volunteers who saw a need in the community. The department owned and operated its assets until the formation of the Black Forest Fire Rescue Protection District, a special district under the statutes of the state of Colorado. Black Forest Fire Rescue was recognized as a fire district by El Paso County on October 11th, 1967.